Our Response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Outbreak

As a precaution to help limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19) and care for our community, Just Buffalo Literary Center has postponed a number of events, and we will follow the guidance of Buffalo Public Schools in terms of Just Buffalo Writing Center programming.

Learn More

Story Craft 2020 (Starting 11.02.2020)


Teaching Artist:
Gary Earl Ross, award-winning playwright, novelist, and short-story writer
See the description below for more information about the Teaching Artist

Monday, November 2, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020

7:00 p.m.–8:30 p.m. EST

Story Craft 2020 examines the necessity of story to human experience and explores techniques for writers to develop stronger works of fiction and drama. Led by Gary Earl Ross, the three-part workshop explores the structure of story through discussion of story elements and the development of the personal idea well. Each session concludes with a Q&A.

Story Craft 2020 is not a marketing or “What-Do-I-Do-Next?” workshop for those with finished books or scripts to sell. It is for those who want to create or refine a creation-in-progress.

Part One: Basic Story Structure (Nov. 2)
The Art, Structure, and Necessity of Story

Part Two: Story Structure in Fiction (Nov. 9)
Applying the Elements of Story to Writing for Readers

Part Three: Story Structure in Drama (Nov. 16)
Applying the Elements of Story to Writing for Audiences

Please note the following workshop requirements:

  • Limit one ticket per purchase.
  • Any tickets purchased at the member price require a current Just Buffalo membership.
SKU: N/A Category:

Gary Earl Ross - Just Buffalo Teaching Artist

About the Teaching Artist

Gary Earl Ross is a retired UB professor whose books include The Wheel of Desire, Shimmerville, Blackbird Rising, Beneath the Ice, and the Gideon Rimes mysteries Nickel City Blues and Nickel City Crossfire (Black Opal Books). His plays (staged in Buffalo, Rochester, Knoxville, New York, other U.S. cities, Canada, England, China, India, and Kazakhstan) include Picture Perfect, Murder Squared, The Scavenger’s Daughter, The Mark of Cain, The Guns of Christmas, The Trial of Trayvon Martin, and Matter of Intent, winner of the Edgar Award from Mystery Writers of America. Other writing honors include three Emanuel Fried Outstanding New Play Awards, a LIFT Fiction Fellowship, a Saltonstall Foundation Playwriting Fellowship, an ASI-DEC artist’s grant for fiction, and public radio commentary awards from the New York Associated Press and the New York Broadcasters Association. Both The Scavenger’s Daughter and Matter of Intent have been adapted into motion pictures by CITOC Productions of Mumbai, India.

Additional Information
Register for This Workshop:

General $95, Members $80