Our Response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Outbreak

As a precaution to help limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19) and care for our community, Just Buffalo Literary Center has postponed a number of events, and we will follow the guidance of Buffalo Public Schools in terms of Just Buffalo Writing Center programming.

Learn More

Our History: The 1970s

40 Years of Buffalo History - 1970s - Just Buffalo Literary Center
The 1970s
The 1980s
The 1990s
The 2000s
The 2010s

Here are some Just Buffalo history highlights from the 1970s. Scroll down to move forward along the timeline.

Michael McClure & Tom Pickard

Friday, February 27, 1976

Featuring:
Michael McClure, poet and playwright
Tom Pickard, English poet

Where: Allentown Community Center
Date: February 27, 1976
Time: 8:00 p.m.

More Info

Anselm Hollo & Alice Notley

Friday, March 10, 1978

Anselm Hollo Alice Notley March 10, 1978 - Just Buffalo

A Reading

Where: Allentown Community Center
Date: Friday March 10, 1978
Time: 9:00 p.m.

Joanne Kyger

Friday, March 17, 1978

April Poets 1978

Friday, April 7, 1978

Featuring:
Allen DeLoach
Jim Silvia
Judy Kerman
Liz Fenton
William Navaro
Kathy Rudy
Tom Clark
Maureen Owen
Ed Sanders

Maureen Owen

Tuesday, April 25, 1978

Ed Sanders

Friday, April 28, 1978

May Poets 1978

Monday, May 1, 1978

Featuring:
Bobbie Louise Hawkins
Michael Horovitz
Danny Zimmerman
Jim LaVilla-Havelin
Bill Pruitt
Bill Berkson
John Daley

Where: Allentown Community Center
Date: May 1, 1978
Time: 9:00 p.m.

John Daley

Friday, May 26, 1978

Carlene Hatcher Polite

Friday, October 13, 1978

BASHO

Sunday, October 15, 1978

Featuring:
Buffalo Performance Company

Where: 180 Summer Street, Fisher Home
Date: October 15, 1978
(Program Unknown)

Nov-Dec Poets 1978

Saturday, November 4, 1978

Featuring:
John Logan
Ted Berrigan
Linda Zisquit
Joan Murray
Fielding Dawson
Ann Waldman
Josie Clare
Allen DeLoach
Jim Selvia

Where: Allentown Community Center, 111 Elmwood Ave
Date: November-December 1978
Time: 9:00 p.m.

Anselm Hollo

Sunday, December 31, 1978

Date: Unknown

May Poets 1979

Tuesday, May 1, 1979

Featuring:
Kathy Rudy
Eric Mottram
Victor Hernandez Cruz
Juan Gonzalez
Sarah Provost
Jane Creighton
Sonia Sanchez
Emile Latimer
Sounds and Echoes of Yemonja
Larry Fagin
Ted Berrigan

Where: The Shuper House
Date: May 1, 1979
Time: 8:30 p.m.

Rudy Burckhardt

Saturday, September 29, 1979

IMG_2997

A Film Showing

Where: Allentown Community Center, 111 Elmwood Ave
Date: September 29, 1979
Time: 8:30 p.m.

Robert Creeley

Friday, November 2, 1979

Where: Allentown Community Center
Date: November 2, 1979
Time: 9:00 p.m.

THE 1980s

THE 1990s

THE 2000s

THE 2010s